Long time, no write

Well, that’s not entirely true. I’ve been writing a ton. But I certainly haven’t been writing here, have I?

It’s been a wonderful, yet incredibly busy fall season for us around here, meaning me and my family. I continue to struggle, as we all do, to fit it all into these 24 hour segments we call days… and have yet to find the formula that allows me to do it all and stay present enough to enjoy it.  Such a work in process… and I guess that’s where I’m at these days, trying my best to give myself to the priorities that I’ve set for myself and then seeing the beauty and accomplishment in the messy incoherence that ensues. I figure if I can do that, I’m in pretty good shape.

Well, this is my habit, to take stock toward the end of the year. Not a bad habit, but it can turn melancholy if I let it, so I won’t. A few of my favorite things that I did this year- that sounds more cheerful.

I attended the IEA retreat in Carmel Valley… What a fantastic group of artists. Such a beautiful place.

I developed a body of work that I am in love with… a rare thing for me; I am so critical of my own work. The slow down in sales has facilitated my spending more time on and with my work. So there is a silver lining.

I participated in NaNoWriMo in November… 50,000 words in thirty days, with only a few vague ideas in my pocket- it felt like jumping off a cliff, and I survived! I created my parachute on the way down. Challenging, invigorating, terrifying. I’ve never written that much in my life. My daughter did it too- I couldn’t have been prouder.

So what did I learn the most from? Definitely NaNoWriMo- hands down. I’ll be taking every skill I practiced back to my studio. For example: you don’t always need to know where you are going to get somewhere. Let surprises happen. Let the work take charge instead of bending it to my expectations. Spend time with the work every day. Sit down and work, even when it’s the last thing I feel like doing. Trust that I have something to say. I usually just have to get quiet enough to hear it myself.

I’d love to hear from you- what did you do that was new this year, and what did you learn from it?

1 thought on “Long time, no write

  1. Christine Simpson

    I’m so bummed I never made it to the art show you invited me to. But!!!! It eventually donned on me to google you and lo and behold you have a nifty web site. Lisa, how odd…I have been totally into nests and eggs. I loved getting to see some of your work and to read a few intstallments of your blog. Your retreat in Carmel valley sounds like it was inspiring. It makes me tremendously happy that you are doing your art. You really have a gift. I just graduated. Yay!!! Now I just have to take one more exam and then I’m an official RN. Pretty cool. That should allow us to buy a house which I’m ready for (i think) finally. My Mom passed away in June (she had been battling Ovarian cancer). It is so weird…I’m always thinking of things to show her and then remeber I can’t. I’s love to come up and have you show me how to do the encaustic process and see your work in person. I’m much more available now that I’m out of the nursing program. Today is my birthday and i’m 42! Take care, Christine

    Reply

Leave a comment