Neither Here Nor There


Detail: “Neither Here Nor There”
Just finishing this piece up in the studio this evening. I bought some gunmetal grey metal flake recently, and it’s taken me a while to figure out how to use it; I’m really happy with the result. As usual, the challenge was to use it with the kind of precision that I strive for, and to also be able to use it right on the surface so that the sparkle was not compromised (because what kind of person would I be if I compromised sparkle?!) I think the glitter gods are pleased…

Edit:  The image above is a detail from a larger piece- the original piece is 36″ x 36″ … I am planning on posting some full images of new work soon…  :-)

7 thoughts on “Neither Here Nor There

  1. roger morrison

    very nice piece… and yes, you better not forget those glitter godz!… u r so funny too, along with all that creativity flowing!… :-) … could you please also share/post the size with your images though… i believe it gives us some additional perspective since we cant see it in person… THANKS! … and i guess the metal-flake is left on the top-most layer with no additional wax over, and just fused by itself on top???… yumyum … ciao for now, roger

    Reply
  2. Joe Conover

    Yes, I too would like to know the size of the pieces when they are posted. Size does give us more perspective, as Roger suggests, in enjoying the remarkable depth that you achieve.

    Reply
  3. Beth Haynes

    This photo does not do the piece justice. It’s just so hard to capture the hematite-like sheen of the circles with the metal flakes–and impossible to recreate the wondrous shifting from dark-dull to to bright-shiny and back again as you shift your angle of viewing.

    Reply
    1. LisaK Post author

      Yes, photographing it is difficult… Especially at night, with a iphone, in poor light. You’ll have to come over and see it, Beth. :-)

      Reply
  4. Sher Fick

    Lisa – I am so happy to have come across your well-written and well-photographed website. I love your work and truly appreciate your sharing of your learned techniques and preferred materials. I have been bouncing around from this to older posts and you have inspired me, too, to pick up my once used torch . . . I’ve been practicing with encaustic since 2005, but love that even now I can pick up great tips from generous artists such as yourself. I look forward to future postings! Appreciatively, Sher

    Reply
  5. Lisa Jasak

    I agree! I just came across your website and am grateful for the techniques you share. People will be drawn more to your art because of it. I haven’t been able to spend enough time on art lately, but when I do, use of your suggestions will result in something totally different from your style. I look forward to reading more about your continued success! Good Luck. Lisa Jasak

    Reply

Leave a Reply

