2016 Teaching Dates

IMG_5131

I have a few teaching dates that I’d like to share here. I have my 3-day “Precision, Layering, and Clarity” workshop at Wax Works West scheduled for April 30 – May 2 (Sat-Mon) and again for November 18 – 20 (Fri-Sun). In this workshop, I focus on developing a rich layered depth using layers of clear encaustic, achieving more control with line and brush work, and creating a smooth surface. Students leave this workshop with an enhanced understanding of the medium, sample boards of the new techniques, and have time to work independently. This workshop always fills up, so sign up early. Wax Works is a wonderful place to learn and play, and I am so glad to be able to offer this class there twice this year.
http://www.waxworkswest.com

I’ll also be teaching a 5-day “Transparent Layers and Mixed-Media” encaustic class at the Idyllwild Arts Academy in Idyllwild, CA, June 27 – July 1. I’ve heard great things about this school, and am excited to be invited to teach there. This class will introduce a wide range of mark-making and mixed media techniques, along with my personal take on transparent layering. It will be my first time teaching in Southern California, so for all of you down there who have asked me about teaching closer to home, here is an opportunity!
http://www.idyllwildarts.org , go to Summer > Adult Arts > Painting and Drawing to see the list of courses and sign up.

If you would like me to teach at your venue, email me and we can chat about it.  Thanks, and maybe I’ll see you in a workshop!
~Lisa

P.S. I’ve also just upgraded my wordpress status to get rid of those pesky ads! I looked at my blog recently while not logged in, and there was an ad for lunch meat. Blaah! I don’t even eat meat! I also changed my url while I was at it. If you subscribe to this blog, and receive an email when I post, I don’t think that will be affected. If you access this site through a bookmark, you will want change the url to: http://www.lisakairos-openstudio.com

4 thoughts on “2016 Teaching Dates

  1. 215design

    Hello Lisa. I just signed up for your Idyllwild course! I’m really excited for the class. It’s going to be a fantastic experience and get away (I live in Kansas City, MO). I’m looking forward to meeting you and learning new encaustic techniques (I have worked in wax for about 6 years). Take care, Trudy Blankenship

    >

    Reply
  2. Artist Kori Vincent

    Oh how I would love to take one of your classes someday. I am just getting started in encaustics and am really enjoying your blog!!!

    Reply
    1. LisaK Post author

      Kori, Glad you are enjoying what I’ve written here. Classes are a great way to learn and get hands-on help from an experienced teacher, but often our independent work gives us immediate and valuable feedback that we can use to learn too! Lisa >

      Reply

Leave a comment